Here is a recent question and answer to the Rules Interpreter:
Q: On an 8 meter penalty shot can a defensive player push their own player to attempt to get in faster?
A: There is nothing in the rulebook that indicates this can’t happen, however, it is up to the officials to make sure the players exit the 8m in relative position to where they were when the whistle blew for the foul. This onus is on the officials, not the players, to make sure they are in the correct placement. They will take every advantage we allow them.